Making an Outline

by bdhesse

Different people write in different ways. Some people need an outline to write well while others prefer to just wing it. I wrote my first novel without using an outline and had few problems. I am using outlines to write my current books. I have found that having an outline makes the writing process smoother and keeps me from getting stuck. However, my writing has slowed down since I started using an outline. It’s not that the outline took any time, but rather that I seem to find writing with an outline boring and am finding it hard to focus. Now I am trying to decide if the benefits outweigh the costs. While I am slower now, I still have just as many words down now as I had with my first novel. This is because I don’t have the writers block.

Has anyone else had this problem? How did you go about solving it? 

What do you think about making outlines?

