Story Part 19

by bdhesse

“Shay!” Sarah called. “Shay! Where are you?”
“I’m here,” Shay said. “What’s wrong?”
“I have to show you something,” Sarah replied.
Shay couldn’t tell if her sister was excited or panicked. She shrugged and followed her sister to see what had happened.
Sarah stopped at a tree. “Look!” she said, pointing at it.
“Yeah?” Shay said. “That’s a tree.”
Sarah rolled her eyes. “Of course it’s a tree,” she said. “But look what I did to it.”
Shay walked over to the tree and looked at it more closely. It was tall. Probably the tallest one around. But it looked like a regular tree.
“What about it?” Shay said.
Sarah rolled her eyes and stormed over to a nearby sapling. “Look,” she repeated. She touched the tree and closed her eyes.
It grew. It got taller and wider before Shay’s eyes. When it was as large as the other tree, Sarah opened her eyes and stepped back.
“See,” she said.
“How did you do that?” Shay asked.
Sarah shrugged. “I was reading and I thought ‘I wish I had more shade’ as I closed my eyes,” she said quickly. “When I opened my eyes again, the tree was huge.”
“Really?” Shay asked.
Sarah nodded.
“Hmm…” Shay hummed thoughtfully. She bent over and picked up a leaf. She closed her eyes and thought at it: You are a pen, she thought.
Sarah gasped.
Shay opened her eyes slowly. There was a pen in her hand.
“How’d you do that?” Sarah asked.
“I thought at it,” Shay replied.
“You…thought at it?” Sarah said doubtfully.
“Yeah,” Shay said. Shay thought for a minute. “Sarah,” she said finally. “Do you think we have the same powers?”
Sarah thought about that. “I don’t know,” she said. “Maybe we do but our personalities mean that we use them differently. But our figures were different, so maybe not.”
Shay nodded. “The scroll thing said something about a GIII,” she said. “Do you know what that means?”
Sarah shrugged. “GIII was one of the jaguar gods,” she said. “Maybe you got his power, but I doubt it.”
“Why?” Shay asked confused.
“Because…GIII was a jester god,” Sarah replied. “I think…this was a joke.”
Shay’s face fell. “Why would some god give us powers as a joke?” she asked.
Sarah shrugged. “I don’t know,” she said. “Maybe to get revenge on someone?”
“That would be cruel,” Shay replied.
Sarah nodded.

