Story Part 27

by bdhesse

“What does it mean?” Shay asked.
“What do you think it means?” Kamikaze asked her.
“How should I know?” Shay replied.
“Well, it was left for you,” Kamikaze pointed out.
“Yeah, but I don’t even know who those people were,” Shay said.
“I think I might know,” Sarah said.
Shay and Kamikaze looked at her.
“What?” Shay said when Sarah didn’t continue.
“Just give me a moment to think,” Sarah said.
Kamikaze rolled her eyes and began to walk away.
“Wait,” Sarah said.
Kamikaze stopped and looked at Sarah.
“Shay,” Sarah said. “Do you remember the lore I told you about? The stuff about the jaguar gods?”
“Uh huh,” Shay said, nodding.
“Well, the one god, the hero twin,” Sarah began, “him and his twin brother, they had two older half-brothers. They turned their half-brothers into monkeys.”
“Okay?” Shay replied.
“I think that’s who those two monkey-people were,” Sarah finished.
“So…” Shay said thoughtfully. “Does that mean we have the hero twins’ powers?”
Sarah shrugged. “Maybe,” she said.
Kamikaze looked from one girl to the next. “That might not be quite true,” she said.
“What do you mean?” Shay asked.
“I think you may be their reincarnations,” Kamikaze said excitedly.
“What?” Shay and Sarah said together.
“Think about it,” Kamikaze said. “You’re twins. Perhaps you were the hero twins in another life.”
Shay rolled her eyes. “And we just happened to be born to an archeologist who would bring us the figures with the scrolls that gave us the power?” she said. “That seems like a lot of chance.”
“Nothing is chance,” Kamikaze said. “Whatever happened was meant to happen. But that’s neither here nor there. What does this lore have to do the clues?”
Sarah thought for a second. “Well, I don’t think these clues pertain to us,” she said. “I think they pertain to the lore.”
“So we have to read to be able to understand them?” Shay said forlornly.
Sarah nodded.
“In that case you two should go back to your grandfather’s,” Kamikaze said. “I’ll see if I can find out what the clues mean. I’ll come find you when I know.”
Sarah and Shay nodded and snuck back out of the house. They hurried back to their grandfather’s house as quickly as possible. It was getting light outside.

