On Ayn Rand

by bdhesse

I have begun reading Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand. I have never been a big fan of hers because I don’t agree with her philosophy. But I’m trying to win a scholarship, so now I’m reading one of her best known works.
So far, all I can say is wow. She had a very negative view of people. So far only two of her characters have any value as people. Most are just pessimistic bums who won’t do anything without first being told. A good portion are greedy too. Even one of her good characters is quite greedy. But she’s also intelligent. Her other good character is driven by the will to do good. He’ll actually make decisions because he thinks that it’s his duty to do good.
These characters aren’t relatable. Sure, there are a few people out there as useless as many of these characters. But not narly as many as she Rand is portraying. The greed’s a bit more realistic, especially since we’re discussing business people. But there should be more depth to the characters. So far they are nothing but static caricatures. Even the good characters are fairly static caricatures. They are solely driven by one thing. I really hope that they improve over time, because I don’t know how I’m going to make it through the book if they don’t.

