Screenwriting Is Hard

by bdhesse

I finally began doing some screenwriting. I have to say, it’s more difficult that I thought it would be. I’m trying to find the best way to begin dialog, and how to place my descriptions, but it is very different from what I’m used to.

I’ve had to remember how to write a story after years of only academic writing. I had some background in story writing, so figuring it out wasn’t too bad. Figuring out the dialog was the hardest part. But screenwriting is significantly different, and it’s not something that I’ve ever done before.

That said, I am learning. And I’ve found both The Hollywood Standard and The Screenwriter’s Bible to be very helpful. Hopefully I’ll pick this skill up quickly and be able to create a decent screen play should the need ever arise 😉 .

