Are Creative Writing Courses/Certificates Worth It?

by bdhesse

I’ve been looking into getting a creative writing certificate. I’ve never actually taken a class on creative writing before and I’m almost done school, so I doubt I’ll get the opportunity through my program. However, I have found a certificate program that looks worthwhile. I’d have to do it next year, since I’ll be busy with school until April. I’ll also have to be willing to pay the same for each course as I do for regular schooling. As such, I’m a little conflicted.

For those of you who have taken similar programs, were they worth it? Why or why not? And has anybody done one after becoming published? If so, was it worth it?

For those who’ve gotten published without ever taking creative writing courses, do you think you missed out? Or do you think it matters?

