30 Day Writing Challenge: Part 2

by bdhesse

Day 2 —Tell about a character who lost something important to him/her.
“Don’t worry, sir,” Madeline said. “We’ll win next time.”
“I don’t think there will be a next time,” Franklin replied. “This was my chance and I blew it.”
Jackson shook his head. “You don’t know that, Frank,” Jackson said. “This just wasn’t your year.”
“Jack, I know you’re trying to help,”Franklin replied. “But you know as well as I do that you don’t just bounce back from this kind of defeat. The voters will remember, and they don’t forgive easily.”
“The voters aren’t perfect, sir,” Madeline said. “They make mistakes. They may like Tom Harper as their leader right now, but they’ll see it was a mistake soon enough. You’re a good man. You deserve to be in charge.”
Franklin smiled at her. “Thanks for the support,” he said. “But I screwed up. They may well realize that Tom is a greedy bastard soon enough, but they won’t look to me as their answer. They’ll look to someone that they think will succeed me.”
“Frank, we don’t have anybody to succeed you,” Jackson said. “At least, not anyone the public would vote for.”
“Yeah, well,” Franklin replied. “We have a few years.”
Jackson snorted. “We’re better off to spend that time rebuilding your image than we are to look for your successor.”
Madeline cleared her throat.
The two men looked at her.
“I know things look grim now,” she said. “But politicians have bounced back from worse. Remember Steinbeck? We can rebuild your image, sir.”
Franklin started to laugh. “You two have more faith in me now than I ever did,” he said. “Alright, I’ll let you lead me through this fool’s errand. But I lost, and I don’t think the election is something I’ll ever get back.”

