30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 15

by bdhesse

Day 15 — Create a character who is falsely accused of a crime.
Sam ran into the bar quickly, terrified.
“I’m sorry, sir, but we’re closed,” the bartender said as Sam came through the door.
“I’m sorry,” Sam said. “I just…can I have a few moments?”
The bartender stared at him. “I’m really not supposed to…” the bartender said.
A police car sped past with bar with it’s siren blazing.
Sam jumped and hid behind the wall.
The bartender took a step away from Sam. “Do I need to call the cops?” he asked.
“No, please!” Sam said. “I haven’t done anything.”
The bartender looked skeptical. “Then why are you hiding?” he asked.
“I…” Sam began. “I’m not sure. I wasn’t doing anything, but then…these two cops came up to me. They started talking about some armed robbery. They said I looked like the guy who did it. I panicked. I ran.”
“So why not turn yourself in?” the bartender asked. “Get this all cleared up?”
Sam smirked. “Come on, man,” he said. “Look at me. The cops won’t just let me go. They just want to blame someone for the robbery.”
The bartender shrugged. “Fair enough,” he said. “So what are you going to do.”
“I don’t know,” Sam said. “They don’t know who I am. I suppose I’ll go home. Hope they find the actual robber so I can move on with my life.”
“And if they don’t?” the bartender asked.
“At least I’ll be able to spend a few more hours with my family,” Sam said with a shrug.
The bartender smiled. “You have any kids?” he asked.
Sam nodded. “Two girls and a boy,” he said. “My youngest just started kindergarten.”
“That’s a fun age,” the bartender said. “My son just started second grade.”
“Hey, mine too,” Sam said with a smile.
“Come on,” the bartender said. “I’m done for the night. Let me give you a ride home?”
“Really?” Sam asked.
The bartender nodded.
“Hey, thanks man,” Sam said. He followed the bartender out the back door.

