30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 17

by bdhesse

Day 17 — Write a short scenario set in the kitchen of a fast-food restaurant.
Diane hurried into the kitchen with an empty tray. She practically sprinted through the busy kitchen to the manager at the back.
“I need you to go talk to the customer at table 12,” she blurted.
“What’s wrong?” the manager asked her.
“I’m not sure,” Diane replied. “She wouldn’t tell me.”
The manager hurried out of the kitchen followed closely by Diane.
A few moments after they had left, yelling erupted from the dinning room loud enough that the kitchen staff could hear what was said.
“How dare you!” an older woman’s voice shouted. “I will not be spoken to like this.” There was a moment of silence before the woman yelled again. “No!” she said. “I will not leave. That girl is being disrespectful and I want her fired.” There was another moment of silence. “I will call corporate about this. I’ll have your job!”
Diane burst back into the kitchen. Tears were streaming down her face.
“What’s that all about?” one of the cooks asked her.
Diane shook her head.
The woman shouted one more time. “Fine!” she said. “See if I ever come back here.”
A few moments later, the manager entered the kitchen shaking his head.
“Don’t worry about her,” he told Diane. “She’s just entitled. Why don’t you go home early?”
Diane looked at him surprised. “Are…are you sure?” she asked.
The manager nodded. “Your shift’s almost over anyway,” he said.
Diane smiled tentatively. “Thank you,” she said. She hurried off to the break room.
The kitchen staff stared at the manager.
“Back to work,” the manager said. “The entertainment is over.”
The kitchen staff hurriedly got back to work.

