30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 24

by bdhesse

Day 24 —Write about the longest amount of time you’ve ever gone without sleeping.
I was about 8 when I went the longest without sleep. I was at a friends house for a sleepover one Saturday during summer vacation. I had gotten up at about 9am that morning to watch cartoons (I did that every Saturday). That afternoon my parents had a baseball game.
At the game, my friend and I decided we wanted to have a sleepover. Our parents said yes. We were told to go to bed at around 10pm, which was already late for me, but we were still giddy so we just talked quietly until her parents went to bed. Eventually the house was quiet, so we tip-toed into her playroom to play. At one point we decided that it would be a good idea to mix water and milk in her play pots and pretend we were cooking.
At 9am the next morning, my mom picked me up for church. After church I went back to my friend’s house. She told me she had had a nap, which I teased her about. Then her parents took us to another baseball game. After the game we went to a restaurant. We were there until about 9pm. Then my parents took me home. I probably fell asleep at around 10pm.

