30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 27

by bdhesse

I found myself without internet for the last few days, so I haven’t been able to post. I once again have internet, so I’ll post my challenges for day 27, 28, and 29 today.

Day 27 —Make up a near-death experience (unless you have a real one).
The pain was sudden and intense. One minute everything was fine, the next it felt as though I had been stabbed in the gut. I screamed and collapsed to the ground in agony.
“George!” Milly cried as I fell to the ground. She ran over to me. “George, what’s wrong?” she cried, hysterical.
I couldn’t speak. The pain was far too intense. Instead, I merely stared up at her and gasped.
“I’m calling an ambulance,” Milly said. She stood up and grabbed the phone.
I must have passed out after that. The next thing I remember is the hospital room. It was very white and clean looking. I remember seeing Milly beside me. She was talking to a doctor.
“Operate?” Milly said. “Are you sure?”
“Yes, I am sorry,” the doctor said in a strong French accent. “But if we don’t operate soon, your husband could die.”
“Couldn’t we wait until we get home?” Milly asked. “We’re only supposed to be here for a few more days.”
“I’m afraid not,” the doctor replied. “It is unlikely that your husband would survive the trip.”
Milly burst out crying.
I sat up to comfort Milly. As I did so, I suddenly felt lighter. My pain was gone. I climbed out of bed, but, when I looked down, I was still lying in the hospital bed.
“Milly?” I called, afraid. “Milly, can you hear me?”
Milly kept talking to the doctor.
“Milly?” I tried again.
She continued to ignore me.
“This can’t be happening,” I said to myself. “This isn’t real. None of this is real.”
The room suddenly filled with voices. At first I thought that a large group of people had suddenly entered the room, but Milly and the doctor took no notice of the sound. I looked around, but I couldn’t see anyone.
Then the voices began to speak as one. “Come with us, George,” they said. “Hurry up: it’s time to go. We’ve been waiting for you.”
“Who are you?” I cried.
“Come with us,” the voices repeated. “It’s time to go.”
“You’re not real!” I cried. “None of this is real.”
“It’s time to go, George,” the voices said.
“Milly!” I cried. “Look at me! Why won’t you look at me?”
“It’s time to go, George.” the voices said again.
“Go where?” I cried. “Where are we going?”
“Come with us,” the voices said.
I sighed. I wanted to stay with Milly, but what choice did I have? Slowly, and in absolute terror, I began to follow the voices. I don’t know how, but I knew exactly where they wanted me to go. I left the hospital room and walked down the long hallway.
The hallway seemed to go on forever. I kept walking straight. As I got further down the hall, it seemed to grow longer. I didn’t think the journey would ever get me anywhere. And yet, I knew the voices intended for me to arrive somewhere. But where? And when?
My fear grew more intense. “I don’t want to go any farther,” I told the voices.
“It’s time to go, George,” the voices said.
“But where are we going?” I asked.
“Come with us, George,” the voices said.
“Where are we going?” I shouted at the voices.
The voices seemed to become physical, but I still couldn’t see or touch them.
“Ow!” I cried as one of the voices seemed to bite me.
Another one seemed to ram me, then another one followed. I was suddenly being rammed and bit everywhere.
“Stop it!” I cried. “That’s enough!” I swatted at the air, but I didn’t seem to hit any of them. They continued to bite and ram me. They seemed to be enjoying my pain. “I said stop!” I cried again. I continued to swat at the air.
Finally I couldn’t take any more. I collapsed to the ground. “Stop,” I cried.
“Pray,” the voices replied, mockingly. “Pray to God.”
I’m not sure why, but I began to pray. I cried out for God to save me.
I awoke back in my hospital bed.
“Oh thank God!” Milly cried as she hugged me fiercely.

