30 Day Writing Challenge: Day 29

by bdhesse

Day 29 —You are at a cemetery reading gravestones. Write about one of the people you find.
As I walk among the headstones, I stop. I look down at a newly planted stone. The name stands out clearer than most of the others: Ronald Edmund Richards. He died recently, but he seemed to have led a good life. The grave stone says he was born May 15, 1928. He led a long life. And the stone says he was a loving husband, father, grandfather, and even a great grandfather. He was able to grow old with his wife, and watch his children grow into adulthood and have their own families. Even his grandchildren have become adults. He must have been a loving man. Going by the number of flowers around the stone, they miss him a lot.
I can’t help but wish this man’s family well. I hope the children live as long as their father, and are healthy doing so. I hope the grandchildren are as successful, or more so, as their parents and grandparents. I hope they tell their children stories about their grandfather so that his legacy is not soon forgotten.
I smile down at the stone as I begin to wander towards the next one. It’s too bad everyone can’t leave behind so much love and success.

