The Decision

by bdhesse

stress
I sit here on this couch, completely undecided. I stare at the screen, but I do not move. I should be going somewhere, I should be doing something, but I don’t know what. It’s not that I have nothing to do, but rather that I have too much to do. I have a life, responsibilities, people I care about, but I also have interests and causes. I want to do everything, but that would be impossible.
So now I find myself doing nothing. I can’t decide what to do, and I can’t event decide what to put off. On the one hand, my bills need to be paid, my father misses me, and my friends want to hang out. On the other hand, there is homelessness in my city, kids go to school hungry, and politicians want to take my rights. What should I do? My family and friends are important, my life is important, but the lives of those I don’t know and the future of my country is also important.
So I want to do it all. I want to do what is right. I want to be a good person. But I can’t do it all, and I can’t decide what is best. So now I’m doing nothing. I should be doing something, but what should I do?

