The Boy in the Woods: Part 5

by bdhesse

art3

Michael yawned and stretched as he stepped out of tent the next morning. “Wake up, Bristol,” he called into the tent. “We still have a long way to go.”
“Excuse me,” a little voice said behind Michael.
He turned around quickly, startled by the unexpected voice, but saw nothing. “Hello?” he called.
“Over here,” the little voice said.
Michael looked around but saw nothing.
“I’m right here!” the voice said. A little light shot towards Michael until it was right in front of his face. “Can you see me now?” the light asked.
“Wow!” Michael said as he leaned towards the light. As he got closer, he was able to make out the light’s features. Eventually he saw that the light seemed to surround a very tiny boy with wings. “What are you?” he asked the boy.
“I’m a fairy, of course,” the boy said. “My name is Kameko. I am looking for a man who lives around here. Do you know a Ginjiro?”
“How do you know my grandpa?” Michael asked Kameko.
Kameko seemed to start. “You are Ginjiro’s grandson, Michael?” he asked.
Michael nodded. “You’ve heard of me?” he asked.
Kameko nodded. “Your grandfather has told my master a lot about you,” he said.
“You have a master?” Michael asked.
“Well, he’s more of a friend, really,” Kameko replied. “He sent me here to find your grandfather. My master needs your grandfather’s help.”
Michael frowned. A wave of sadness spread through him. “I’m sorry,” he said, “but my grandpa’s dead.”
Kameko seemed to start again. “Oh, I’m so sorry to hear that,” he said. “Oh dear, now what am I going to do?”
“Um…so why is your master anyway?” Michael asked.
“What’s going on out here?” Bristol asked as she climbed out of the tent.
Michael looked back at her. “Bristol, meet Kameko,” he said as he pointed towards the ball of light.
Bristol gasped. “Is that…is that a fairy?” she said.
“I am,” Kameko replied. “It is nice to make your acquaintance, Bristol.”
“You too,” Bristol said, confused.
“As for my master,” Kameko continued, “his name is Master Raiden. He was your grandfather’s martial arts master.”
Michael nodded. “Grandpa told me about him,” he said. “He said Master Raiden is the best instructor in the world.”
“Yup,” Kameko replied. “People come from all over the world to be taught by my master.”
“I’m sorry to interrupt,” Bristol said. “But why are you here?”
“I was looking for Michael’s grandfather,” Komeko said. “I was unaware of his passing. My master needs some help, and he believed only Ginjiro capable of helping him.”
Bristol thought for a moment. “Would it be possible for us to help?” she offered.
“I’m not sure,” Kameko replied. “I supposed it couldn’t hurt to take you to my master. Perhaps you can help him.”
“Really?” Michael asked, beaming. “I would love to meet Master Raiden.”
“Follow me,” Kameko said. He took off into the woods.
“Wait!” Bristol cried. She began scurrying to pack everything back up.
“Oh, right,” Kameko said. He flew over to the tent and blew green fire on it. The tent quickly folded itself back up and dropped back to the ground in a tiny square of cloth. Bristol picked it up and put it back in her bag.
“Come on,” Kameko said. He flew off again.
Bristol and Michael hurried after him. They travelled deeper into the woods.
“Stop,” Bristol panted as they came across a spring. “We’ve been walking for hours. I need a drink.”
“One moment,” Kameko replied. He went over to the spring and aimed his green fire at the water. It seemed to swirl around for a bit, then it disappeared. “The water is now safe to drink,” he announced.
“What did you do?” Michael demanded.
“Spring water often has parasites in it,” Kameko replied. “I made it so that the water is pure.”
“Oh,” Michael said. “Thank you.”
“Yes, thank you,” Bristol added. They hurried over to the spring and began to drink.

