Would You Rather Self-Publish of Publish Traditionally?

by bdhesse

I’m not going to write a whole lot here because my eyes are dilated and reading hurts, but I want to put this out there.

There is a major debate out there about the best way to publish. On the one hand, self-publishing gives the author a lot of freedom and allows the to publish faster. On the other hand, traditional publishing helps the author sell more books and makes it more likely that the author will become a household name. So which method would you use? And what’s your reasoning for preferring that method?

Personally, I want to go with traditional publishing. I have two reasons for wanting to go this route. First, I have an anxiety disorder. I’m not comfortable with the whole marketing my own book thing, and I’m not comfortable having to deal with all the people I’d have to deal with on my own. And second, I’m not very knowledgeable where business and marketing come in. I don’t have any training in it and I don’t have the time to learn the ropes. As such, if I went the self-publishing route it would take me just as long to publish because I’d need to learn those skills. Traditional publishing allows me to work with someone who has the skills that I don’t have, and it means that my primary job is writing. Yes, I’d still have to promote my book, but not to the anxiety-inducing degree that I would have to otherwise. Frankly, I don’t mind sharing my earnings if it makes my job easier (and keeps me sane).

