The Meaning of Names

by bdhesse

We get a lot more information from names than we probably should. There are certain names that we associate with certain occupations or lifestyles. For example, whenever a character in a show or movie has my first name, they are either trailer trash or a stripper. Add my middle name to the mix and my name just screams trailer trash (thanks mom and dad :P). Names like Bob and Dave are often associated with blue collar jobs, but Robert and David are more white collar (either that, or they’re Mormon missionaries). Stacy and Brittany have long been associated with woman who are dumb and blond, or who are promiscuous. But names like Laura and Theresa are generally connected with being more respectable and possibly religious. Names mean a lot to us, even if we don’t realise it.
Since I’ve been thinking a lot about the power of names, I thought I’d try something in the comment section:
Tell me the story of a person named Alex. Who are they? What do they look like? What do they do?
and/or
Tell me the story of someone named Kris. Who are they? What do they look like? What do they do?

